Ignition Series: VALORANT Tournament Series

VALORANT joined the ranks of esports disciplines on 2 June. To celebrate the release, the developing company Riot Games holds a series of tournaments called Ignition Series.

Ignition Series is dedicated to the first competitive season which is named in the same way. The championships of this series will be hosted throughout the world till the end of 2020. We offer to take a close look at the first series of Valorant tournaments.

List of Championships

Ignition Series is a combination of numerous championships under the only aegis. In overall, Ignition Series is made up by 12 championships. We will watch 6 of them in the immediate future.

This is the list of tournaments which we will see in the summer. Six more championships have already been finished. These are

The tournaments have been divided into regions that are known for their special features. These are the points we will pay our attention to.

Peculiarities of Ignition Series

Riot Games has its own approach to holding esports events. They prioritize division of the teams into regions. It enables enlarging possible formats of championships.

In case with Ignition Series, Riot follows the checked way. The championships are divided by the geographical principle. In total, there are seven regions

The tournaments are held by different organisations. For example, in Europe the tournaments are held by esports organizations: G2, Vitality, and others. Additionally, the Ignition Series tournaments always make experiments on the holding format. The system itself resembles League of Legends where each of the regions has its own format. This approach allows making a unique esports ecosystem with its identity and uniqueness.