Groups for 2017 World Championship were determined

The second round of the Play-In stage was finished at the League of Legends world championship.

Such participants as Cloud9, Team WE, Fnatic and 1907 Fenerbahçe Esports became the best teams in the second round. These teams have guaranteed themselves a spot at the group stage of 2017 World Championship, where they will struggle to get to the playoffs.

The Play-In stage was carried out in two stages. In the first one, three participants played best-of-one matches by a Round Robin system with each other in each of four groups. According to the results of the matches, the worst competitors finished their participation in the tournament, having held the 21st-24th places.

21st place — Gambit eSports
22nd place — Dire Wolves
23rd place — Kaos Latin Gamers
24th place — Rampage

The rest two teams from each group moved to the second round, where they played best-of-five series against their opponents that had been seeded randomly. At the conclusion of the second round, four winners went to the main group stage, where they would fight with other twelve participants to come out to the playoffs. Losers held the 17th-20th places and finished their participation in the League of Legends world championship.

17th place — Lyon Gaming
18th place — Hong Kong Attitude
19th place — Team One
20th place — Young Generation

Participants were seeded by groups in the following way:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Edward Gaming
SK Telecom T1
ahq e-Sports Club
Longzhu Gaming
G2 Esports
Samsung Galaxy
Royal Never Give Up
1907 Fenerbahçe Esports
Flash Wolves
Team SoloMid
Team WE


After the end of the group stage, eight teams will go to the playoffs in which they will play Bo5 matches in a Single Elimination bracket.

2017 World Championship started on September 23 and will last until November 4. A prize pool of the tournament amounts $2,250,000 and the main money prize is $843,750.

The strongest team in the world, according to the majority of viewers, SK Telecom T1 is the winner of 2016 World Championship. The team is a three-time champion of the world. SKT1 won World Championship in 2013, 2015 and 2016.